Reviews - June 2020

  • Superb Product

    Posted on 27 June 2020 about TANK Clearance DHX Pro 150mm Wheelset by A. Giles

    5 stars
    I ordered a set of these DH wheels for my old Marin Quake which I'm rebuilding/modernising as a project. The first item on my list was a set of wheels, ordered on a Friday and by midday Saturday they arrived. Not ridden them yet as build is in progress but initial impressions are: 1.Very fast delivery (especially as its a Saturday). The wheels are very well packaged, better than my old dt Swiss r
  • Essential Wtb V3 Wheelset

    Posted on 26 June 2020 about Essential WTB V3 Wheelset - Tubeless Ready by A. Harvey

    5 stars

    Going from 19mm internal to 29mm internal width rims for me has been an absolute game changer. I have them set up tubeless; again another game changer. These are high quality wheels for the price! Had a hard session on them a couple of weeks back. They held up perfectly and still run as true as they arrived! My only little picky point is that I wish you could select what colour spokes and nippl

  • Tubeless

    Posted on 16 June 2020 about AlpineTrail V6 Wheelset - UK Made Hubs by A. Watson

    5 stars
    I have custom built Trail24 wheels. the schwalbie tyres went on easily and seated with one CO2 Cartridge. first ride exigent with a couple of small drops with no problem. I used 27mm tape and 36mm valves .
  • Great Item

    Posted on 15 June 2020 about 10mm Rear QR Through Axle by M. Armstrong

    5 stars
    My Orange 5 was creaking and after trying everything else,looking on forums and phoning Orange,even tried a Halo hex key axle, it turns out the 9mm QR is the problem. Bought one of these fitted and went for a long ride and total silence!! Problem solved, so I bought a second one as a spare and another one for another bike. Well made great price, super blingy and it works. Bike feels a lot firmer a
  • Does The Job At A Fraction Of The Others Cost

    Posted on 8 June 2020 about Raptor Chainring 110BCD Asymetric - Narrow Wide by J. Sleightholme

    3 stars
    Fitted to Ultegra R8000 chainset with the small modification and works well. I'm possibly stretching capacities running 48T and 11-42. It works but is noisy. Way more noisy than my MTB 1x rings. And fairly regularly drops the chain off the top of the ring. Its also way noisier than my GRX on my other bike. Also, looking at the tooth profile its barely thicker than the standard outer r
  • Excellent Quality And Great Value

    Posted on 6 June 2020 about UK Made Headset - Complete by a. Taylor

    5 stars
    These headsets are excellent value, substantially cheaper that other large bran names but offer excellent quality. One thing to note though is they are a very tight fit, definitely tighter than the ones that they replaced, although i didn't find this to be a massive issue.
  • Excellent Product But One Issue

    Posted on 6 June 2020 about Centrelock Adaptor by a. Taylor

    4 stars
    These are excellent quality and fit great on a qr hub however when it came to fitting a 15mm through hub the lock ring itself fit ok but there wasnt enough clearance around the ID for the cassette tool to torque to spec so i had to get creative, this however doesnt deter from the quality of the product Superstar Edit: You need the correct thinwall shimano tool. most cheap ones are too thick - s
  • Seriously Good Wheels

    Posted on 4 June 2020 about Mavic Open Pro UST DISC Wheelset by s. cowell

    5 stars
    Just got them, usual bob on wheel build quality I've come to expect, spoke tension is sweet and those hubs.... lovely bits of kit and the free hub just purrs. But the rims, oh the rims. Right I'm not going to get silly about this but a bit of soap suds, popped a new pair of Gravelkings on using just my hands, and straight up with the track pump. No sealant and an hour later still sat at 40psi. The

Review By Category

Archive