Reviews - July 2017

  • Nice, Light Wheelset

    Posted on 28 July 2017 about Stans MK3 Electro Premium Build by D. Carter

    5 stars
    Weights without tape or valves Front: 740g Rear: 924g Total: 1,664g Lighter than Stan's own build, which is just over 1,700g
  • Top Draw Product - Please Don't Stop Manufacturing It!

    Posted on 28 July 2017 about I/O Chainring 76BCD - Narrow Wide Style for SRAM XX1 by M. Davidson

    5 stars
    I've intentionally waited until I'd put a few rides in before reviewing my 30T ring on my XX1 system. At a fraction of the price of Sram's this is way better. Better engagement, Better retention, Better durability by a country mile. Deeply impressed with this ring. Oh & I've yet to drop the chain. All this & top quality.
  • Post To Post

    Posted on 24 July 2017 about Disc Brake Adaptor by s. shepherd

    5 stars
    Ordered Friday lunchtime...delivered Saturday. Fitted a few minutes later. I cant fault the bracket or service. Amazing!!
  • Best Grips Ever

    Posted on 24 July 2017 about Lock On Grips - Half Flange by R. Alexander

    5 stars
    After trying loads of grips from lizard skins peaty grips, ergon, deathgrips, ODI, nukeproof and a fair few more a friend suggested these and i was really impressed. I've had them on the bike for 7 months and I ride DH 4 to 5 times a week so they have taken some abuse and I've just brought another pair as I've worn them out.
  • Very Tough Rims But Too Loose For Tubeless

    Posted on 21 July 2017 about Superstar T-READY DS25 by S. Pagram

    3 stars
    Really tough rims, I live in the french alps & have been using these on rocky, root infested trails. I've torn holes in tyres and not dented the rims! Sadly they're useless tubeless, just too loose, tried several tyres which I know to be a tight fit on other tubeless rims but they're all too loose, they burp very easily on rough trails.
  • Big Tough Grippy Pedals

    Posted on 21 July 2017 about Nano-x Pedals by S. Pagram

    5 stars
    I love these pedals, great for big feet, really grippy and really strong. I used to use DMR vaults but got fed up with bending axles every time I brushed a rock! These are well made and very strong.
  • Top Quality & Amazing Value

    Posted on 21 July 2017 about UK Made Headset - Complete by S. Pagram

    5 stars
    Basically its a hope headset without the price tag. Quality is easily as good, bearings are quality & filled with grease. The only bad point was someone forgot to cut the thread in the star angled nut!
  • Excellent Value For Money Conversion

    Posted on 19 July 2017 about Raptor Chainring 110BCD Asymetric OVAL - Narrow Wide by S. Churchman

    4 stars
    Bought this for my cross bike to convert to 1x. For correct chainline I fitted it inboard of the 105 5800 crank and fitted a spacer to the drive side BB to get correct chainline. If you fit it outboard (where the big ring is) chainline is compromised and when in the lowest gear you get chain drop. The oval works well for me having used one on the MTB. Teamed with Shimano SLX 10spd clutch mech no c
  • Disappointed

    Posted on 19 July 2017 about Raptor Chainring 104BCD OVAL - Narrow Wide by C. Manuell

    1 stars

    I've always been a strong advocate of Superstar Components and have had chainrings before that have performed exceedingly well, however this chainring was the exception. Even with a chain retainer sat above the chainring the chain was coming off a couple of times a ride. The chain was new and at the correct tension. I've never had problem before and the only change too my drive chain set up was

  • Top Quality At A Budget Price

    Posted on 18 July 2017 about Nano-x Pedals by L. Newns

    5 stars
    Ordered midday friday, had them on my bike by sat afternoon. Look great and finish is at least as good as pedals twice the price. 8mm pins provide more than enough grip when paired with 5.10s, huge platform offers great support for my size 11 feet. Too early to comment on longevity but with quality cartridge bearings in them I expect them to last well.

Review By Category

Archive