Reviews - February 2017

  • Solid

    Posted on 28 February 2017 about Tech 4 Tubeless Ready Wheelset XX27 by S. Heinzemann

    5 stars
    29'' Set weights 2209g incl. Rim Strip. Happy so far! Good wheels for hard riding. I use it on my Nukeproof Mega 290. Decals are hard to get off.
  • Absolute Bargain

    Posted on 27 February 2017 about ARC CX-RAY Probuild Volta EVO 11Speed - CLEARANCE DEAL by A. Saville

    5 stars
    As far as I can tell, same rim and better spokes compared to well reviewed Hunt Aero Race - for less than half the price! Top customer service (slight issue that was dealt with immediately.) Found Conti 4000s a little tight to fit, but may be because tubeless ready.
  • 4 Pairs Purchased At Amazing Price, But...

    Posted on 27 February 2017 about Zeal Pave28 RaceBuild by S. COLDWELL

    3 stars
    Purchased 4 sets of wheel between 4 clubs mates and used the new year 50% discount. Amazingly well priced wheels which use great components, but all four sets have had faults. Set 1. Removed from box and freehub fell off with race and front wheel was 4mm out of true. Set 2. Tension is so low in the rear wheel that it rubs on the break surface whenever out of the saddle. set 3. Low spoke tension
  • Really Impressed

    Posted on 21 February 2017 about Kevlar Disc Brake Pads by K. Purvis

    5 stars
    Got a set for my cannondale road bike with shimano discs. Bedding in I just did what I've done in the past with shimano and so far I'm very impressed work just as well if not better as the ice tech they replaced. Might try the finned ones next but for £7.99 these pads with your money back if you don't like it's a no brainer..
  • Smooth

    Posted on 19 February 2017 about Raptor Chainring 104BCD OVAL - Narrow Wide by c. english

    5 stars
    A lot quieter than my absolute black item, especially towards the larger end of the cassette. Did one ride on a round ring before going back to oval. Definitely helps with traction when out of the saddle and grinding away at a gear.
  • Superstar Arc 22 Wheels

    Posted on 19 February 2017 about Arc22 Ultrawide Wheelset by J. Lanyon

    5 stars
    I was pleased enough with these wheels when I bought them in 2016. However, the real 'plus' came when I knocked the rear wheel out of true by unclipping in an emergency, and catching my cleat on one of the spokes. Although I retrued myself, I was uneasy that one of the spokes still had a slight kink. The non nonsense honouring and speed of the retruing service (and spoke replacement) means I woul
  • Light, Fast And Cheap!

    Posted on 15 February 2017 about Elite 24 Zeal Wheelset 20/24 by J. Alto

    5 stars
    I bought a set of these in an attempt to give a lightweight upgrade to the stock Shimanos on my Synapse and the benefits are tremendous! The weight advantage you can feel up the climbs and the fast spinning hubs come alive free wheeling downhill. At the price that I paid, it's the best gram per gram upgrade I have bought. Did I mention the lifetime truing service you get with Superstar wheels? The
  • Great Quality

    Posted on 12 February 2017 about AM Carbon Rim - 26" Rim Clearance by R. Todd

    5 stars
    Just received my rims. Look like excellent quality and can't wait to get them built up by my LBS. I will update what I think after I first use them, but unfortunately I will have to wait for 6 weeks after having surgery :( That's going to be tough !!!
  • Effortless Acceleration

    Posted on 7 February 2017 about AM Carbon Rim - 26" Rim Clearance by M. Deere

    4 stars
    Looking to shed a bit of weight from my Mondraker Dune, I thought I'd give these a go. First impression was just how stiff, light and efficient they are at putting every ounce of your effort into acceleration. These fly from 0 to flat out with so little fuss it's insane, felt like I was suddenly a fitter rider! The stiffness translates well into the corners too, being very precise and snappy in
  • Powerful And Consistent

    Posted on 7 February 2017 about Organic Disc Brake Pads by M. Deere

    5 stars
    I've had a few pairs of these pads now, for Shimano and Formula brakes and I've been really happy with their performance. After bedding in they have good bite from cold in both wet and dry conditions and they last a good length of time too... I was expecting to use a couple of sets of pads front and rear during a stint in the alps last summer but didn't even get through the old set of pads I al

Review By Category

Archive