Reviews - September 2011

  • Will Slater

    Posted on 30 September 2011 about Double Chain Device - CLEARANCE - ISCG MOUNT ONLY

    3 stars
    Bearings die quickly in filth, but I don't think any quicker than on my other device, which is a Blackspire. Two sets of bearings on the roller as opposed to one on the Blackspire. Dunno if this is a plus or a minus, really. The roller isn't as good on the Superstar though - it could do with a step, as has been mentioned. Does the job though, and it is very cheap.
  • Will Slater

    Posted on 30 September 2011 about Jewel QR Seatclamp - CLEARANCE 31.8 ONLY

    3 stars
    Great until I managed to snap the allen bolt mid ride and had to ride home stood up. In fairness though this probably wasn't the clamp's fault, I've been having post slippage problems for a while now.
  • Gordon Inch

    Posted on 29 September 2011 about 5 Layer Braided Hose (3m length)

    4 stars
    Ordered a 5 layer kit in gay-ass red on Monday morning, it was delivered to Glasgow less than 24 hrs later. Fitting took less than an hour for both, and that includes bleeding my Avid Elixirs. The hose itself looks and feels every bit a match for the Goodridge lines on my other bike. The only criticism I have is that a lack of comprehensive fitting instructions could be an issue for someone who ha
  • Paul Gibbs

    Posted on 29 September 2011 about CNC Nano Thru Pin Pedals

    5 stars
    Brilliant pedals delivered next day. I spent more time repositioning my foot on my v12s than pedalling but the slightly bigger squarer platform on these is spot on. Nice and shiny too, and go very well with my green Piglet, which is nice.
  • Marco Paganotto

    Posted on 28 September 2011 about Angletech HT2 Bottom Bracket

    1 stars
    Dont waste your money, this BB lasted only 4 months and most of my riding was on road too! The bearings are cheap and were totally seized and rusted. Either buy a Shimano XT/SLX HT2 BB which will last at least twice as long, has much higher quality bearings and much better sealing or buy a couple of Superstar ceramic hybrid bearings and press them in to some old HT2 cups. From experience i have us
  • Dai Davies

    Posted on 28 September 2011 about CNC Nano Tech Flats

    5 stars
    Cracking pedals !! The lad uses them on his Spec Enduro & his DH bikes. Bent an axle on a DH race recently ( after a big hit ), but bought a replacement that arrived quickly. One thing though, if you're going to use them for DH ing, the thru pin models are a bit tougher, as we've bent / broken a couple of the grub screws on that particular type.
  • Gavin Mosely

    Posted on 26 September 2011 about Balance Seatclamp

    5 stars
    I bought a red one of these to replace the standard black QR on my Cube Reaction. As long as you can live with it not being QR, this is a very light and good looking alternative. It's very nicely finished and machined and looks neat and slick on the bike. Yet again another nice piece of kit from Superstar. Check out the nano pedals, they are gorgeous.
  • Steven Dunn

    Posted on 24 September 2011 about Disc Rotor - Vibe Design

    5 stars
    I bought 180(f) and 160 (r). My bike has quite deep pads so I purchased the vibe design and it is a perfect fit. This rotor has transformed my brakes.
  • Jan H?hna

    Posted on 24 September 2011 about Zephir Stem

    3 stars
    Bit too much material cut away in the shaft clamp area, if you ask me. When torqued to just 4Nm, the bolts bend (plastic deformation), even though they are pretty short. Not a good sign. I don't really trust that stem now for real AM usage. But could hold up fine. Who knows. And neat looking, that's true.
  • Koji Ohishi

    Posted on 22 September 2011 about XCR ST Mount Chainguide

    4 stars
    Good Price,Fit well for my Santacruz Heckler and Extralite-Octaramp 30T Chainring. http://downhillagogo.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/110915n.jpg http://downhillagogo.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/110915a.jpg

Review By Category

Archive