Reviews for Mountain - Drivetrain - Expander Rings

  • Too Thin

    Posted on 14 December 2017 about XPR50 50T Expander Ring by A. Crocker

    2 stars
    This expander rings flexes way too much under strain while climbing. The aluminum should be thicker up to the point just below where the chain sits on the ring.
  • Very Tight Fit

    Posted on 8 August 2016 about XPR Expander Ring by L. Kusk

    2 stars
    Fitted a 40t on a tesla evo freehub. Succeded in the end after quite a struggle. Fitting was made even more problematic by the slack tolerences/soft material on the hub body. The casette had made impressions in the splines like small notches if you will. Had to make a pressing tool to get the 40t all the way in. Now that it's mounted it works fine. I'm using it with a single chain ring (32t) and
  • Fantastic

    Posted on 2 January 2016 about XPR Expander Ring by c. rawlins

    5 stars
    Beautifully machined and so easy to fit and set up. Shifting up and down from it is smooth and effortless.
  • Eeeees A Good Un

    Posted on 23 September 2015 about XPR Expander Ring by forest bmx

    5 stars
    I have a surly LHT with compact chainset, XT shadow 9spd mech and 105 10spd shifters. I bought one of these and used it with a "supposedly" non compatible SLX 11-36. If you hacksaw through the pins holding the middle cogs together it all works perfectly. The 15-19 jump is big but I'm swapping the 15 for a 16 which should help. What a mish mash eh?Took the bike up "Mount Gabriel&quo
  • Mr

    Posted on 23 August 2015 about XPR Expander Ring by Mark

    5 stars
    Can't knock it does what it says on the tin for great price. However it won't work for every bike/mech but that's to be expected. For my 153 process I couldn't get it to work. But my cadabra it worked perfect with minimal tension adjustment. They both run identical shimano zee mech ect, Only diffrence is the mounting points for the mech are different. Just need superstar to start knocking out
  • Great Purchase

    Posted on 22 June 2015 about XPR Expander Ring by Rich

    5 stars
    Bought one of these to satisfy my curiosity about a 1x10 conversion, this is being used with a new Shimano XT M771 cassette, XT chain, long cage SLX rear derailleur with clutch. I took my time in setting this up and used the supplied B-Tension screw even though I probably did not need it, and also made sure the cassette was correctly torqued up. I had read about shifting issues but after a coupe o
  • Review

    Posted on 17 March 2015 about XPR Expander Ring by mat

    4 stars
    I am running two of these on the following set ups: -160mm enduro bike. 1x10. XT cassette and chain. Zee 11-36 clutch mech. 32 Wolftooth spiderless up front. Novatec hub. -agro steel hardtail. 1x10. SLX cassette and XT chain. SLX long cage clutch mech. 32 Superstar up fron. Hope Pro2evo hub. On the big bike, the blue ring I ordered was not machined correctly meaning 5 teeth literally were tee
  • Mr

    Posted on 1 March 2015 about XPR Expander Ring by mathew howard

    5 stars
    Got one of the first out of the factory and it works a treat no problems at all just take your time setting it up and it will work faultless
  • Loose On Freehub

    Posted on 24 February 2015 about XPR Expander Ring by Paul

    1 stars
    Nice piece to have on your bike but be aware that it doesn't fit your freehub tight. It has about 0.75 mm play and might cause slipping and damaging your freehub grooves. I'm sending mine back and expect Superstar team to get back to the drawing board.
  • Great Product

    Posted on 21 February 2015 about XPR Expander Ring by Rob Edwards

    5 stars
    Great product from Superstar at a great price. Fitted easily with removing 17T sprocket and shifts fine on a 10 speed XT cassette and mech. Longer B-Tension bolt included, but I didn't need it on my setup. Cheers

Review By Category

Archive